1. Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the highest authority at AMU. The university has a nationally and internationally respected Board of Trustees from academia and the business community. They help the university fulfill its mission by providing oversight and input regularly. The Board approves the strategic plan of the university, its annual budget and major policies and initiatives. They advocate for the university locally and internationally to build its capacity for today and tomorrow. 

  1. University Council

The University Council is the executive body, which is responsible for the strategic development of the University and recommends measures to raise its profile and increase its performance and competitiveness. The Council consists of the President, Vice Presidents, Deans & Select Directors. Technical committees are called in for support as needed. The council appoints senior officials of the university with the exception of the university President.

  1. University Senate

The University Senate is made up of representatives of all constituencies of the campus community, including faculty, staff, graduate and undergraduate students. The senate provides an opportunity for faculty, staff, students, and administrators to improve university life by advocating for changes and introducing improvements. The Senate votes on policy-related issues and other governing aspects that directly affect the day-to-day functions of the University.

The primary function of the Senate is to advise the University President on any matter or concern, including but not limited to, education, budget, personnel, campus-community, long range plans, facilities, faculty, staff and student affairs. This broad charge brings virtually all campus policy matters within the purview of the Senate. The Senate meets on a semiannual basis to vote on proposals and other matters as submitted by its committees and constituents.

  1. Student Government

During its first year, the CU management encouraged students to elect their own student government leaders that will help shape the future of their school and the education they get from it. After a fiercely competitive race in which fourteen candidates vied for the position of the President of the CU Student Government in three successive rounds, Ms. Fadumo Ali Abdi was elected President for a two year term that ended on December 31st, 2015. Mr. Abdihamid Ali Abdirahman was elected as the new President of the CU Student Government in Feb. 2016 for a two year term.

Four other officers were chosen as VPs and Secretary for the same term. The student government also has a 15 member strong Senate, which serves as the legislative arm of the Student Government and a nine member Judiciary that, among other things, keeps the peace between the legislature and the executive branches of the student government. There are also several clubs for different majors and interests throughout the University.

Scroll to Top